follow us on facebook follow us on twitter follow us on instagram follow us on pinterest

Parks and Recreation Commission and Committees

It is the mission and responsibility of the City of Jefferson Parks & Recreation Commission and the staff of the Department  of Parks & Recreation to improve quality of life and place by promoting and providing opportunities for fun and enjoyment  for present and future generations in the Jefferson City area.

The Commission is charged with acquisition, management, preservation, and improvement of a quality system of parklands, open space and recreation facilities and the development and supervision of a broad program of quality educational and recreational activities for all ages.

Parks and Recreation Commission By-laws, Rules and Regulations 

Those interested in serving on the Parks and Recreation Commission can complete the volunteer profile application and return it either by fax (573) 634-6522 or by mail (City of Jefferson, Attn: Administration Department, 320 E McCarty St, Jefferson City, MO 65101) to get your name placed on the waiting list.

Along with Commission members, Parks and Recreation has several advisory committees. Those interested in volunteering on a committee can complete a Committee Membership Questionnaire. Committees include Long Range Planning*; Recreation Services; Park Resources; and Golf AdHoc.
*Long Range Planning and Park Resources Committees have been combined into the Park Resources Committee.

Commission meetings are typically scheduled the second Tuesday of every month. 

Commission  and Committee Members (email)
Commission  Park Resources
& Planning
Recreation Services Golf Advisory  Cultural Arts
Brad Bates – 

Stu Murphy - 
Andre Grinston -
Andre Grinston - 
Zak Wilson -
Lindsey Rowden  – 
Vice President 
Bill Plank - 
Lindsey Rowden -
Chris Wilson - 
Denise Chapel Cindy Layton Cindy Layton Bill Plank Don Govang
Andre Grinston Bob Weber Steve Buchholz Lindsey Rowden Erin Graham
Cindy Layton Randy Allen Michael Couty Leo Ahlers Katy Lacy
Stu Murphy Gene Bushmann Steve Duncan Bill Case Heidi Lucas
Bill Plank Jim Chilcutt Glenda Fry Nathan Cook Sarah Nichols
Bob Weber Nancy Duggins Vostal Greg Gaffke Steve Duncan Casey Osterkamp
Chris Wilson Mark Kaiser Gart Pollard Scott Englund Ashley Pringer
  Marty Miller Julie Stotlemeyer  Steve Garrison Mitchell Woodrum
  Charlie Palmer Rudy Veit Linda McAnany  
  Cynthia Schnieders   Jacob Robinett  
  Karl Staub   Mike Roling  
  Mary Telthorst   Russell Rottmann  
  Kay Toft   Joanne Scheperle  
  Larry Vincent